PDF Print E-mail
LACEEP's structure includes three bodies:
  • A Secretariat
  • An Advisory Committee
  • A Scientific Committee
The Secretariat

The Secretariat is hosted by the Tropical Agricultural Research and Higher Education Center (CATIE) in Costa Rica.  It consists of a Program Director (Dr. Jorge Higinio Maldonado), and two Deputy Directors (Dr. Francisco Alpizar and Dr. Juan Robalino), a Financial Officer (Alberto Vargas), a Program Officer (Lizette Delgado).


Advisory Comittee

The Advisory Committee has four members and is headed by the Program Director.  Its main purpose is to advise and support the secretariat in decisions related to research and training needs in the region. Members sit as individuals; they do not represent their countries or institutions. The Committee does not approve research projects, so there is no conflict of interest in cases where a member's institution has submitted a proposal for funding. The secretariat is represented within the Advisory committee by the directors.

Current members of the Advisory Committee are:

  • Dr. Jean Acquatella (Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean - Chile)
  • Dr. Mauricio Alviar (Antioquia University - Colombia)
  • Dr. Roxana Barrantes (Instituto de Estudios Peruanos - Peru)
  • Dr. Jorge Rivera (George Washington University - Estados Unidos).
  • Dr. Mario Piedra (EARTH University, Costa Rica) (New member, Welcome!)


Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee has currently six members. Its purpose is to contribute, giving advice and mentoring, to the creation of research capacity in environmental economics in the region. The directors are also part of the scientific committee. The current members of the committee are:

  • Dr. Allen Blackman (Resources for the Future - USA)
  • Dr. Fredrik Carlsson (Göteborg University, Sweden)
  • Dr. Salvatore Difalco (London School of Economics- UK)
  • Dr. Nancy Olewiler (Simon Fraser University – Canada )
  • Dr. Felipe Vasquez (Universidad del Desarrollo-Chile)
  • Dr. Dale Whittington (University of North Carolina, USA)